Innovation in Teaching Award

The Financial Management Association International's (FMA) Innovation in Teaching Award is designed to recognize inspiring educators, enhance the quality and relevance of education in finance, disseminate successful innovative practices, and elevate teaching as a craft to the next level.


This competition is open to any educator who teaches undergraduate or graduate students in finance.

Applicants must be current FMA members and willing to present their techniques in a special session at the 2020 Annual Meeting, 14 - 17 October 2020 in New York, NY, if selected as finalists.


The 2020 submission period has closed.

Selection of the finalists and winner will be determined by a committee based on the following criteria:

  1. Innovation
  2. Broad transferability of the teaching technique in terms of resources and instructor skills/connections
  3. Measurable impact on students, institutions of higher education, and the finance profession

Applicants must submit (1) a letter of support from a dean or department chair (2) a 500-1,000 word description of their teaching techniques. The description should detail:

  1. The teaching procedure
  2. The knowledge or skills that this technique introduces or reinforces
  3. Materials, if any, that are required
  4. The impact that the technique has had on students, the applicant's institution, and/or the finance profession
  5. Summary of student feedback, comments, and/or evaluations
  6. The ease of transferability to another instructor

Please have all documents ready before completing the application as the form can only be submitted once.


Selection & the 2019 Finalists

A committee selected three finalists to present in a special session on Thursday, 24 October 2019, at the 2019 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, LA. At the session, audience members were invited to complete a nonbinding poll to help choose the award winners. The committee considered the nonbinding poll results in selecting the following winners:

1st Place Winner



This prize was generously sponsored by American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and the Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA)

The award winners received award plaques, recognition on FMA's website, and the following prizes:

  • First prize (1): $1,000
  • Runner-up (2): $500 each

The finalists' teaching technique submissions and a video recording of the conference session will be posted on the FMA website.


If you have any questions, please contact FMA at +1.813.974.2084 or [email protected].