Outstanding Financial Executive Award

The Financial Management Association International (FMA) established the Outstanding Financial Executive Award in 1984 to honor individuals who have made creative and innovative contributions to the field of finance. The goal of the FMA is to enhance communication between academics and practicing finance professionals in order to help bridge the gap between theory and practice. Thus, by recognizing individuals who have had a significant impact on both the practice and theory of finance, the FMA is able to focus attention on important and worthwhile advances in the profession. Honorees include:

1984  John J. Phelan, Chairman, New York Stock Exchange
1985  Donald P. Kelly, CFO, Beatrice Foods
1986  Robert S. Miller, Jr., Vice Chairman, Chrysler Corporation
1987  T. Boone Pickens, General Partner, Mesa Ltd. Partnership
1988  Greta Marshall, The Marshall Plan
1989  Dean LeBaron, Trustee, Batterymarch Financial Management
1990  Martin L. Leibowitz, Managing Director, Salomon Brothers
1991  Gary P. Brinson, President, Brinson Partners
1992  John Bryson, CEO, SCEcorp and Southern California Edison
1993  Allan R. Taylor, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Royal Bank of Canada
1994  Alger B. Chapman, Chairman and CEO, Chicago Board Options Exchange
1995  Wendy L. Gramm, former Chairman, CFTC
1996  Richard F. Syron, Chairman and CEO, AMEX
1997  Anthony Neoh, Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission
1998  Sam Zell, Equity Group Investments, Inc.
1999  John Biggs, TIAA-CREF
2000  Al Berkeley, NASD
2001  Tony Fell, RCB Dominion Securities
2002  Martin Fridson, Merrill Lynch Capital Markets
2003 David K. Whitcomb, Automated Trading Desk, Inc.
2004  Robert Glauber, NASD
2005  John Bogle, The Vanguard Group
2006  Ethan Berman, RiskMetrics Group
2007  Robert Monks
2008  Richard Sandor, Chicago Climate Exchange
2009  Minder Cheng, Barclays Global Investors
2010  Duncan Diederauer, NYSE Euronext
2011  Janet Yellen, Federal Reserve System
2012  David Booth, Dimensional Fund Advisors
2013  Charles Evans, Federal Reserve Bank Chicago
2014  Cliff Asness, AQR Capital Management
2015  Josef Lakonishok, LSV Asset Management
2016  Marc Zenner, JP Morgan
2017  Adena Friedman, Nasdaq | Full Transcript
2018  Andy Rachleff, Wealthfront
2019  Roger W. Ferguson, Jr., TIAA
2020 Stacey Cunningham, NYSE Group
2021 Henry A. Fernandez, MSCI
2022 Marc Rowan, Apollo
2023 Terrence A. Duffy, CME Group