Innovation in Teaching Award



This competition is open to any educator who teaches undergraduate or graduate students in finance.

Selection of the finalists and winner will be determined by a committee based on the following criteria:

  1. Innovation
  2. Broad transferability of the teaching technique in terms of resources and instructor skills/connections
  3. Measurable impact on students, institutions of higher education, and the finance profession

Applicants must submit (1) a letter of support from a dean or department chair (2) a 500-1,000 word description of their teaching techniques. The description should detail:

  1. The teaching procedure
  2. The knowledge or skills that this technique introduces or reinforces
  3. Materials, if any, that are required
  4. The impact that the technique has had on students, the applicant's institution, and/or the finance profession
  5. Summary of student feedback, comments, and/or evaluations
  6. The ease of transferability to another instructor


The award winners will receive award plaques, recognition on FMA's website, and the following prizes:

  • First prize (1): $1,000
  • Runners-up (2): $500 each

The finalists' teaching technique submissions and a video recording of the conference session will be posted on the FMA website.

Click here to apply

The application deadline is 12th July 2024


2023 Innovation in Teaching Award Winners

(Sponsored by CESIM)

1st Place Winner

Interactive Investments Dashboard
   Kerry Back, Rice University
   Kevin Crotty, Rice University


FinTech Ideas: A Beauty Contest Approach
   Filipe Correia, Univ of Georgia


Click here to view previous Award Winners



If you have any questions, please contact FMA at +1.833.946.4512 or [email protected].